Post-Resurrection Abilities

This forum is for rules clarifications and rules questions, only. Please do not post general chat, or colloquial responses in this forum. Posts that are off-topic will be deleted.

Post-Resurrection Abilities

Postby Mordecai » Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:18 am

Let's say we have two players, Alice and Bob. Alice and Bob both have spells/abilities that they can cast onto a spirit in order to have some effect occur post-resurrection (assuming it's not their final Death). Say Alice's ability causes the subject to resurrect with full AP, full BP, and maybe some other cool bonuses. Bob's ability causes the subject to resurrect with no AP, 1 BP, and maybe some other horrible detriments.

Alice and Bob meet up with another person, Dante, who very quickly becomes afflicted with a very serious case of Death. So now Dante is a spirit. Alice and Bob both cast their abilities on Dante.

What is the end result? Does it depend on the ordering of the casting (e.g. Alice casts before Bob, therefore her effect takes precedent)? Do certain abilities always trump other abilities (e.g. Alice's ability is a gift from her god, Bob's ability is from some spell school, Alice's always takes precedent)? If we ignore the AP/BP-setting aspect of these abilities and only focus on the other buffs/detriments, do all the buffs and detriments take effect on Dante when he resurrects? Or only the effects of the skill that is used to determine their AP/BP on resurrection?
Mordecai
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:09 am

Re: Post-Resurrection Abilities

Postby Tim-Director » Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:43 pm

Mordecai wrote:Let's say we have two players, Alice and Bob. Alice and Bob both have spells/abilities that they can cast onto a spirit in order to have some effect occur post-resurrection (assuming it's not their final Death). Say Alice's ability causes the subject to resurrect with full AP, full BP, and maybe some other cool bonuses. Bob's ability causes the subject to resurrect with no AP, 1 BP, and maybe some other horrible detriments.

Alice and Bob meet up with another person, Dante, who very quickly becomes afflicted with a very serious case of Death. So now Dante is a spirit. Alice and Bob both cast their abilities on Dante.

What is the end result? Does it depend on the ordering of the casting (e.g. Alice casts before Bob, therefore her effect takes precedent)? Do certain abilities always trump other abilities (e.g. Alice's ability is a gift from her god, Bob's ability is from some spell school, Alice's always takes precedent)? If we ignore the AP/BP-setting aspect of these abilities and only focus on the other buffs/detriments, do all the buffs and detriments take effect on Dante when he resurrects? Or only the effects of the skill that is used to determine their AP/BP on resurrection?


How the ability is granted has no impact here, unless the *effect* (not the source) is Divine, which does take precedence.

Now, that being said, assuming all of the above is non-divine, it all depends on the order.

Alice casts the full BP and AP, plus, say, 1 Magic Shield.

Afterwards, Bob comes along and casts 1 BP and 0 AP, and Curse.

When Dante resurrects, he will be at 1 BP, 0 AP, be Cursed, and have 1 Magic Shield.

Does that make sense?
User avatar
Tim-Director
 
Posts: 2446
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:37 pm

Re: Post-Resurrection Abilities

Postby Mordecai » Tue Aug 30, 2016 12:51 pm

Sorry for not replying to this sooner. Yes, this makes perfect sense. Thanks!
Mordecai
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:09 am


Return to Rules Clarifications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron